Down By The Creek // Photo Dump

WARNING: TONS OF PICTURES AHEAD πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

IMG_5752

Well, I haven’t posted on this blog in what? Almost a month? Whew.

IMG_5753

But I don’t think you want excuses. Because who likes excuses? So instead of that, I bring you…PICTURES!!!

IMG_5754

*cue the joyous screaming*

IMG_5755

If the title didn’t hint, I got these down by the creek! I think they’re some of the best I’ve ever taken (although that doesn’t say muchΒ πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚Β ).

IMG_5756

Ok, so there’s a funny story behind these pics. Wanna hear it? Keep scrolling!

IMG_5758

So basically this is what I usually do with photos that I want to post on my blog: I upload them into a bulk photo resizer (so that it doesn’t take up storage, and also so it won’t crash the Internet since our wifi is sometimes awful). It downloads into a zipped folder, so I take them out and move them to my original folder, thereby replacing the original photos with my newly resized ones.

IMG_5763

Simple, no? It’s what I’ve been doing for a very long time! But this time…

IMG_5764

(dun…dun…da)

IMG_5765

When I went to the folder where I had moved them, they were just like — GONE. Like, neither the resized photos OR the original photos were there. They were totally gone.

bam.gif
Like that. (Ok it’s getting annoying just staring at this gif).

IMG_5766

Needless to say, I freaked out. Those were some of the best pictures I had ever taken! Plus, they included pictures from a work-in-progress photostory, which I had worked sooo hard on setting up.

IMG_5771

I looked in the Recycle Bin, I looked everywhere, they were wiped out. Hmph.

IMG_5773

As you can probably tell by now, I found ’em! I still don’t know what exactly happened, but I managed to rescue the zipped folder of photos, which I then restored from the recycle bin. πŸ™‚

IMG_5774

You can see I am quite relieved! πŸ˜€

IMG_5775

This one’s just calling for some text…oh, I have an idea! Keep scrolling to the veryyy bottom to see!

IMG_5778

Is that a BIRD I see? *squeals* #iloveflyingcreatures #ohwaitnotbugs

IMG_5780

Did I mention that as I was taking these pictures my neighbor came and scared me? ‘Cause I’m a very awkward person and I’m terrified of IRL conversations and he just up and appeared and started talking to me?

IMG_5781

no duh, Rebekah. he had a right to. you were trespassing his property.

IMG_5782

He did mention that there was a killdeer nest in his driveway. Coolness, right?

IMG_5784

I was still taking pictures when the sun had already pretty much set, so it was quite dark. Oh well, photography is addicting.

IMG_5785

BERRIES!!!! *squeals* Our neighbor told us about them. They are actual edible blackberries. Aren’t they pretty?

IMG_5786

Little leaf…hindering my view…

IMG_5789

I set this picture as my new desktop background. πŸ™‚ It’s a little blurry, but dost thou like it?

IMG_5790

Those look identical to wheat stalks!

IMG_5791

Bokeh!! *sobs happily* I know it’s not professional, but WHO CAN HINDER MY LOVE FOR BOKEH???

IMG_5792

NOBODY. NOBODY AT ALL.

IMG_5793

MORE OF THOSE BEAUTIFUL SUNNY CIRCLES.

IMG_5794

aghhh it’s so pretty.

IMG_5802

Okay, back to the berries.Β πŸ˜‚

IMG_5804IMG_5806IMG_5807

^^ that may be my favorite shot!

IMG_5808IMG_5809

Well, this post has been full of ramblings. And pictures. And beautiful scenes I don’t want to forget for a long time. I guess east or west, home really is best after all. Do you think so?

OH YES! THE CONTEST! I almost forgot!

Erm, I meant the idea! Uh…yeah. I gave it away.

IMG_5775

The challenge is: slap some text on the photo above (you can use picmonkey or fotor or whatever you prefer) and either upload it to your WordPress/Blogger dashboard and give me the link, or email it directly to me. (If you choose the second option, comment below so I can tell you my email).

It can be any text at all: a quote, or a Bible verse, or a one-liner, or anything at all. However, please keep it appropriate for all ages. Overlays and watermarks are allowed. Can’t wait to see your lovely entries! πŸ™‚

The winner will be announced on July 6. That gives you ten days to enter!

Has your neighbor ever come up when you were taking pics and scared you? Are you going to do my challenge?

signoff

18 thoughts on “Down By The Creek // Photo Dump

Leave a Reply

